Take It When You Go

You said you were leaving; didn’t want to be here anymore.
Said you were feeling the pull to somewhere, just not here with me.
There’s a long road out on the horizon and you want to drive it.
A place you want to be, babe, and it’s not here in my arms.

Well, babe be sure to take it with you when you go.
Don’t leave it here for me to deal with,
I don’t want to see it; don’t want to hear it.
Take it with you when you go, babe,
Cause it doesn’t mean much to me anyway.

You used to say it meant a lot, that you felt it deep in your soul.
Used to say it was all there was, a beautiful gift just for me.
I don’t believe you ever truly knew, you were deceiving yourself.
Don’t believe you ever truly will, you’ve been deceiving me all along.

Be sure to take it with you when you go.
Don’t leave it here for me to deal with.
I don’t want to see it; don’t want to feel it.
Take it with you when you go, babe,
Cause it doesn’t mean much to me any way.

It’s too late to fix it; it’s too old to heal.
Too late to change it; the wound too fresh to ignore.
I don’t think you understand what you’ve done here, babe.
Don’t think the thought of it leaves you empty, feeling like I do.

Take it with you when you go.
Don’t leave it here for me to deal with.
I don’t want to see it; I just want to kill it.
Take it with you when you go, babe,
Cause it doesn’t mean much to me any way.

Babe, just take it,
take your love with you when you go.

Written by Phenix JiRa on 5/13/15

NOTE: The chorus to this song popped into my head the other day and would not be dismissed… thus a song was born. Funny how writing works that way and insists upon living on the page.

Leave a Reply

