I Let You Die

Vettriano, Jack, Yesterday's Dreams

They said I would regret it
but I only listened to those
who said it was for the best.

Now years later
I look upon the world
and wonder what would have been.

Red hair and ruby lips?
Golden locks and blue eyes?
Freckles and cute little dimples?

A girl, a boy,
a child to change my world?

I push the regret back
to the depths of my memory,
day after day trying to forget.

The calendar reminds me,
even the numbers
on every clock as it hits 4:11.

April 11th,
the day that changed my life,
the day I let you die.

by Phenix JiRa

Picture Prompt: Mag 126

10 thoughts on “I Let You Die

  1. I don't think that this is something a person would ever truly be able to get over. Telling yourself it was for the best is the only real way to even try. It doesn't help much though. I really feel sorry for everyone who has to make that choice. It's one of the reasons I hate people who are against it, and make them feel even worse. They feel bad enough about what they did, they don't need more people punishing them for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

