Ruins of Fiction

 Mag_116
I floated down away from you on a raft made of autumn leaves,
my resolve sloshing clumsily inside a measuring cup.
Leaving was the hardest thing until looking back was forbidden.
You watched me from the bridge we built long ago,
its bricks crumbling down into the river.
Calling out to me with your hand stretched out
and my hands covering my ears,
I continue to float further from the hell that was us.
Remembering the last sound of you,
the collapse of our ruined relationship
splashing into the water with your last words of “bitch”,
your true self always stronger than your fiction.

 

Written May 9, 2012
Prompt: Mag 116

 

11 thoughts on “Ruins of Fiction

  1. There are some nice images in this thing JiRa but I think it would be better if you worked some orange juice in there somehow. I don't know why, it just seems like it would fit. . . maybe with a little vodka for spite. 😛

    Like

  2. Hmm… so maybe something like this?

    Remembering the last sound of you drinking my orange juice,
    the collapse of our ruined relationship
    splashing like vodka spit from your mouth with your last words of “bitch”,
    your true self always stronger than your alcohol.

    Hey.. that could work. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

