Denial of the Living

I know my tree all too well, it creeks when I approach,
sighs deep inside and speaks to me,
as I hide behind its trunk.
You know the truth, he is not here,
nor shall he return from the place he dwells;
you should go home tonight.
I shrug the voice away, the last place I saw him,
waving to me from his window,
playing hide-&-seek as I glanced around my tree.
 
I know he is gone,
far from any place
I may venture,
he has left
by the way of
moonlight
and into darker shadows
where devils
hold his hand.
His grave, filled with death, is not where I shall wait,
but instead I remain peeking around my lonely tree
in hopes of seeing him wave,
once more,
at me.


Written January 28, 2012
Photos by Daryl Edelstein
Prompt from Imaginary Garden
 

Note: I’m not sure that I’m done with this one. I may need to re-read it a few times and do some tweeking before I get it just right.

18 thoughts on “Denial of the Living

  1. Thank you Fireblossom! When I was trying to decide which picture to use, a poem was coming to mind and I noticed it was from these three pictures. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you Rusty… I initially was thinking of using two other photos for this but felt that would be too much and take away from it. Thanks for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

